Unknown | The Dandy’s Perambulations

By 1819, when The Dandy’s Perambulations was published in London, Beau Brummell had already fled to France to escape his creditors. The dandiest dandy of them all might have impressed his contemporaries as the embodiment of elegance, composure and self-assertion but the dandies presented in this uncredited children’s book are bumbling, coddled and anxious. Read a facsimile here, or simply admire the charming hand-coloured engravings below.

Dandy's Perambulations 1
Dandy's Perambulations 2
Dandy's Perambulations 3
Dandy's Perambulations 4
Dandy's Perambulations 5
Dandy's Perambulations 6
Dandy's Perambulations 7
Dandy's Perambulations 8
Dandy's Perambulations 9
Dandy's Perambulations 10

 

6 comments

  1. The Dandy’s Creed

    I believe that a gentleman is any person with a tolerable suit of clothes, and a watch and a snuff-box in his pocket,
    I believe that honour means standing fire well; that advice means affront, and conviction a leaden pill.
    I believe that adoration is only due to a fine woman, or her purse: and that woman can keep but one secret; namely, her age.
    I believe that my character would be lost beyond redemption, if I did not change my dress four times a day, bilk my Schneider, wear a Petersham tie, and patronize Hoby for boots.
    I believe that playing at rouge et noir is the only honourable way of getting a livelihood; that a man of honour never pays his tradesmen, because “they are a pack of scoundrels”; and that buying goods means ordering them without the purpose of paying.
    I believe that the word dress means nakedness in females; that husband is a person engaged to pay a woman’s debts; that economy means pusillanimity; that a coachman is an accomplished nobleman; and that any person talking about decency is a bore.
    I believe that there is not a cleverer or prettier fellow on the town than myself; and that, as far as regards women, I am altogether irresistible.

    From: The gentleman’s pocket magazine. 1828

  2. Angie K Walker

    I think he was an uncle of Fanny who Keats fell in love with.

  3. Thaddeus Reycraft

    Fun, fuh, fuh, fuh…….adorable. Shine on!

  4. Pingback: Books/Art: The Dandy’s Perambulations, 1819 – Seb Palmer

Leave a comment